top of page

Deadly Medicine

Back in September I visited the Reece Museum to see their “Deadly Medicine” exhibit. This exhibit covered the use of eugenics in Nazi Germany. However, it was not just the Nazis that practiced this heinous practice; America also made use of eugenic practices, especially with the care of the mentally disabled. This has often been backdrop for many horror movies, and frankly it is no wonder why! Forced sterilization, experimental medical procedures, and euthanasia murders were common practices exercised on the population deemed “inferior”. This exhibit displayed this dark part of history that is not usually emphasized.

Also, since this was an exhibit from the American Holocaust Museum, I feel like I need to mention how wonderful that museum is. By wonderful, I mean terrible in a world changing kind of way. I highly recommend this museum to anyone interested in the dark part of history that was the holocaust and Nazi Germany.

bottom of page