top of page

Volunteering

This semester I spent my time volunteering at the Washington County animal shelter. I went with a group of my friends, and honestly to begin with, I was a little skeptical. My main problem is that I am allergic to cats, but I was assured that I did not have to pet kittens, and in fact, I was kept from petting them, against my will, at times. So while others petted the cats, I stayed with the puppies (Puppies includes all dogs of all ages) and this experience really changed my perspective on animals in shelters. Pets, like us are very emotional creatures and they need to be payed attention to, petted, and loved. The way the demeanor of some of the animals changed when they had human interaction was a beautiful thing to experience, but heartbreaking too, when you realize that they do not get that attention as often as they should. This semester, I visited the Animal Shelter twice and stayed about two and a half to three hours each time.


bottom of page