top of page

Photoshop Update #2

At this point I have put my required 20 hours into this project and more. This is what I've learned so far:

1. Photoshop is really, really complicated

2. I have only scratched the surface of what this program has to offer, BUT

3. I have managed to add several new tools to my repertoire that will allow me to produce higher quality images

The two techniques that I have focused on are called frequency separation and dodging and burning. The first allows me to separate the image I'm working on into separate layers for texture and tones. This allows me to retouch the skin without making it look like plastic. Dodging and Burning is the process of making certain areas of the image lighter or darker, like what used to be done in the darkroom back in the days of film.

Also, here is my latest before and after. This is an image I took almost a year ago, re-edited to match my current style.

bottom of page